Gamification

As part of my weekly side article segment, I figured I’d point out at this time I play a lot of video games (while managing to maintain some semblance of a social life) and one of the things they do a lot of is “badging.” For example, if you complete a particularly difficult challenge, the game will spit out a badge saying you completed it, which you can show to your friends.

 

That concept is in play in education these days as well, but for more relevant purposes.  Imagine being able to show a granular assessment of  your skills to an employer or a faculty member writing your letter of recommendation?  Or finding people who have competencies you want and asking them to mentor you?  Eventually, some schools are looking to replace their turn of the 20th century era grading systems with this.  It’s still in the works, but I thought these articles were really cool reads.

 

http://campustechnology.com/Articles/2013/06/20/How-Badges-Really-Work-in-Higher-Education.aspx

 

https://chronicle.com/article/A-Future-Full-of-Badges/131455/

 

http://net.educause.edu/ir/library/pdf/eli7085.pdf

 

I think that’s everything I have to share on my end today.  Let me know if you need anything else or have any questions!

 

 

Thanks!

Leave a Reply

